LOG IN

Share

Lexus LF-A Testimonial at Press Event - Have another listen to the roar [Video]

Shortly after a stint on a track behind the wheel, Dutch motoring journalist and race-driving instructor Thomas Bangma has described the upcoming Lexus LF-A as "the best car I've ever driven". Mijnheer Bangma is a highly respected car scribe so there's very little reason to doubt his sincerity. The man has driven basically all modern cars considered supercar royalty. And he says none match up to the LF-A. Some endorsement.

During the clip he mentions how true collectors who know their cars and have machinery like Pagani Zondas, McLaren F1s and Porsche RSs in their garages would do themselves major justice by including the Lexus. He also lets slip that only 500 units will be built but that part was edited out by Lexus. While Bangma talks one LF-A just out of camera view screams down the main straight and then again a second time right on queue as he closes out his thoughts.

The LF-A looks set to be unveiled at the 2009 Tokyo Motor Show next week. It's powered by a petrol V10 engine making what's said to be around 405kW (550hp).

 

Source: carsuk.net
Published Oct 12, 2009 4:39 pm By Thami Masemola
Posted in:

Related Articles

Add comment

Comments (36)

 HEMI426 HEMI426
This is so much better than a nissan GT-R
0
0
October 15, 2009 9:09 pm
 Edison Edison
Let's see how this stacks up to the Ferrari F458 Italia. I think it will be a good match up.
0
0
October 15, 2009 8:22 am
 steelerfan2009 steelerfan2009
i give it this it sounds great!!!
0
0
October 14, 2009 6:19 am
 Shark Shark
I guess for some reason my comment was not posted. Yes impressive and sounds awesome, but this guy has not test driven the up and coming MP4-12 C yet so I truely believe he may change his mind considering McLarens long race history and the race technology they put in their cars like the only chassis that is one piece carbon fibre...etc.
0
0
October 14, 2009 1:35 am
 Ferrariguy Ferrariguy
Hahaha, as usual the Euro Snobs who calls themselves, "enthusiasts," come out of the woodworks and bashing. What else is new, and to the person who said, "good car, wrong badge," WTF?? I didn't know it was the badge that made the car good. What happened to measuring a cars' performance based on what it could do and not where it is being produced?? If some of you are brand whores you are missing out on a lot of GREAT cars from Japan and America.
0
0
October 14, 2009 12:44 am
 Shark Shark
0
0
October 13, 2009 10:34 pm
 Jamaicandude Jamaicandude
Love the posts attacking this guys opinion... when will some of you learn that opinions are subjective? IN HIS OPINION, the LF-A is the best car he's driven... how can anyone argue that without feeling like a complete idiot? This wasn't a road test, there are no hard numbers to back up which cars are faster or slower (no claim of speed was even made) It's just one man's opinion on the car as a whole. I think trying to refute that without having driven the car yourselves is a perfect example of being a moron.
0
0
October 13, 2009 10:27 pm
 e36mmm e36mmm
watch this car destroy r35 gtr and zr1 on the nurburgring. it already did a 7.22 as i remember testing on the nurburgring. Its very healthy and wont cop much defeat by other supercars.
0
0
October 13, 2009 6:40 pm
 tootall tootall
@ Brocky. You shouldn't be disappointed really. Considering that this is a V10 and the GT-R is a V6, having the same weight would be a good thing, somewhat.
0
0
October 13, 2009 4:51 pm
 Bristol411S3 Bristol411S3
Hang on, he didn't say it was better or faster than a GT3 RS or Zonda or what have you. He said people who own such cars in their collection will certainly want to add this. That couldn't be more different to what everyone is now claiming was said. And what's that nonsense about this not being fast enough or lacking emotion? Seriously, how can you possibly say these things when no one knows the exact power figures or weight and you haven't even read a review yet, let alone driven one! There are some real bedroom experts on here today. Shouldn't you all be at school?
0
0
October 13, 2009 1:15 pm
 justbored justbored
@McNamara86: No problem to be faster than the GT3 RS, 'cause the Nissan GT-R still is faster, even faster than the face lift. Maybe on a twisty and dry track, with semi slicks on both cars, the GT3 RS could be a tenth of a second faster. (I like the GT3 and it's RS version pretty much, but it just cannot compete with the GT-R.) And, as you should know, Lexus doesn't want to sell the LF-A as long as it would be slower than the GT-R. So it will be like LF-A over GT-R over GT3 on most tracks. In terms of the Zonda i'll agree you fully, as long as the LF-A would weigh more than 1.400 kg.
0
0
October 13, 2009 11:26 am
 dnipete dnipete
Oh crap! The usual anti-Toyota/Lexus comments again. Whats new?
0
0
October 13, 2009 9:35 am
 nederina nederina
Good car, wrong badge.
0
0
October 13, 2009 8:57 am
 KD KD
Maybe it can be as good, who knows. But the look is simply not inspiring at all.
0
0
October 13, 2009 8:15 am
 KD KD
Maybe it can be as good as Zonda or F1,who knows. But the look is simply not inspiring at all. Looks like the celica, maybe it is design by the same guy.
0
0
October 13, 2009 8:10 am
 McNamara68 McNamara68
better than a zonda? better than a McLaren F1? better than a GT3 rs? how much did they pay this guy? there is no way, mark my words.
0
0
October 13, 2009 7:58 am
 v6s_stink v6s_stink
When will Toyota learn that more than performance is required to make it as a truly great sports car. This thing has the emotional appeal of a refrigerator. I'm sure that in modified form it can win the Pike's Peak and a bunch of other events. There are dozens of cars with style and soul that I'd enjoy owning more. All will go faster on public roads than what will allow me to keep my license. About six high end sports car customers will ever race at Pike's Peak. All of them want something gorgeous and desirable, though.
0
0
October 13, 2009 6:33 am
 brocky brocky
I'm curious about the weight of the car. If it weighs anything close to the GT-R I'm going to be seriously disappointed. They can give me all of the numbers but pork is pork no matter how much protein they say it contains.
0
0
October 13, 2009 1:44 am
 catchmyshadow catchmyshadow
no doubt that it will sound nice and perform nice, but for that kind of money (250k €) i would pick several other cars over it.
0
0
October 13, 2009 1:39 am
 Vision7 Vision7
That thing sounds simply delicious. I can't wait for a full Top Gear review. With the consistently stellar work of their production crew I'm sure it will be a great review and another fantastic display of cinematic excellence.
0
0
October 13, 2009 1:11 am
view more comments