New Toyota Corolla EuroNCAP Safety Rating

New Toyota Corolla EuroNCAP Safety Rating
New Toyota Corolla EuroNCAP Safety Rating

First C-segment sedan to get 5 stars

Press Release

First C-segment sedan to get 5 stars

  • New Corolla gets maximum safety rating
  • Sixth Toyota to be awarded 5 stars
  • First C-segment sedan to get 5 stars
  • Toyota is strong performer across Euro NCAP tests (Occupant, Child and Pedestrian)

The all-new Toyota Corolla has been awarded a maximum five-star safety rating for adult occupant protection in the highly regarded Euro NCAP tests.

The 10th generation Corolla is the first C-segment sedan to be awarded five stars by Euro NCAP and also joins the class leaders for safety in the overall C-segment, with a total adult occupant safety score of 34 points.

The new Corolla is the sixth model from Toyota to gain five stars from Euro NCAP since the Avensis in June 2003. Other Toyota models with maximum five-star rating for adult occupant safety are Yaris, Corolla Verso, Prius and the recently launched Auris hatchback.

Corolla is also among the class leaders in the C-segment with four-stars for child occupant protection and threestars in the relatively new assessment for pedestrian safety.

Across the full range of Euro NCAP tests, Toyota is the best performing manufacturer in Europe with six models with five stars for occupant safety, six models with four stars for child occupant protection and three models with three stars for pedestrian protection.

Andrea Formica, Senior Vice-President Sales, Marketing & After Sales, Toyota Motor Europe said: “This new safety award clearly demonstrate Toyota’s commitment to providing its customers with the best possible safety protection for each new car launched in Europe. The six Toyota models which have been awarded the maximum five stars are expected to contribute close to 70% of the total Toyota sales volume in Europe in 2007.”

The all-new Corolla is built around a strong, rigid body structure with excellent passive safety systems. It is available with up-to nine airbags, including a driver’s knee airbag, which reduces the risk of injury to the driver’s legs and lower body in the event of a collision.

Front seats feature second generation Whiplash Injury Lessening (WIL) system with specially designed head restraints and seat frames. Seat belt reminders are standard equipment.

As with all Toyota core models, the new Corolla has standard Isofix child seat anchorages on the outer rear seats. Top-tether anchorages are available for child seats and the front passenger airbag can be disabled to allow a rearward facing child restraint to be used. This excellent standard passive safety package helped Corolla achieve outstanding results for child occupant safety with 4 stars and 40 points.

Corolla scored 3 stars and 23 points for pedestrian protection with specific attention to the front and bonnet design to reduce the risk for pedestrians while the engine position has been lowered.

Alongside the passive safety systems, the new Corolla features a range of active safety items which enhance driving pleasure and reduce the risk of being involved in a collision. The newly developed front and rear suspension ensures superior straight line stability while also contributing to outstanding handling and ride comfort.

The new Corolla has an all-new braking system with standard Anti-lock Braking System (ABS) with Electronic Brake force Distribution (EBD) and Brake Assist (BA). Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) and traction control (TRC) are available either standard or optional, depending on the market.

Source: Source: Toyota Motor Corporation
Published Feb 28th, 2007 8:06am By Text & Photos edited by Frank de Leeuw van Weenen
Posted in:

Related Articles

Add comment

subscribe to comments
comment rules Add comment